Stuart Bingham wins Group 2 of the Championship League.

On Thursday in Leicester, Stuart Bingham won Group 2 to advance to the Championship League’s Winners’ Group.

The previous champion, who finished fourth after the round-robin, barely made it into the knockout round.

Following three victories from the six league games, Bingham and Jamie Jones were tied for the lead in points. But the Welshman was able to advance at Bingham’s cost due to a better frame differential record.

In the semifinal match against Group 1 runner-up Matthew Selt, the 46-year-old put together a strong 140 century break en route to a close 3-2 victory.

In the final, Bingham contributed efforts of 139, 77, and 67 to help him defeat Robert Milkins’ challenge by a score of 3-1.

Bingham, who won the 2015 Championship League, will join Jack Lisowski in the seven-player Winners’ Group in March.

Milkins, Selt, Jordan Brown, who finished in the second semi-final, and Jones, who finished fifth. Will all move on in the competition and have another chance to qualify for Group 3 in January.

More about the results

Mark Selby, who recently won the English Open, Kyren Wilson. And Ricky Walden will compete for the first time at the Morningside Arena.

Meanwhile, Ryan Day and Barry Hawkins, Stuart Bingham are eliminated after placing last in Group 2.

The Championship League currently has two iterations on the snooker calendar. This ongoing Championship League, which is open only to invited players. Is the original having first taken place 14 years ago.

Judd Trump and John Higgins have both won the competition three times. The pair set to join the action in later groups.

Addition to prize money on offer for advancing in the respective groups. Other cash bonuses are available for frames won and by compiling the highest break.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *